How to assign organization to user identities added through bulk import in Identity Cloud

Hello everyone,

I got a use case where we need to import user identities through “.csv” bulk import in ForgeRock Identity cloud and assign users the organization while doing so. I don’t know how to automatically assign users to the organization. I require suggestion from you guys how to achieve this.

Hi @Suriya
To do that, I think I’ll extend the user schema to store the name of the Org of the user and then using an OnCreate event script I would use this Org name value to link the user to the Org Object.
Cheers,
Steph.

Hi @stephane.orluc ,

Thank you so much for response… if possible can you provide me a sample script to do this operation. Since I am new to this scripting it would be great helpful. Thanks in advance

If you’re using IDM, browse to Managed objects definition and select the tab “script”, on this page select OnCreate event and enter a script similar to this:

var orgID = object.orgID
var patchedUser = openidm.patch("managed/alpha_user/" + object.username, null, [{
        "operation":"add",
        "field":"/memberOfOrg/-",
        "value":{"_ref":"managed/alpha_organization/"+orgID+"","_refProperties":{}}
}]);

orgID is the user attribut where you store the org ID. You may have to modify a little bit the script, I didn’t tested it.
You can find more information on these pages: Script triggers defined in the managed object configuration :: ForgeRock Identity Cloud Docs & Functions available in identity-related scripts :: ForgeRock Identity Cloud Docs

Hi @stephane.orluc ,

I have tried the script suggested by you along with links to refer…even though I tried some modifications like you suggested, still its failing. I have spent my entire time till now and couldn’t implement it.